VERY LATE UPDATE!

Hi friends. It’s been a long time. I’ve missed this space. I’ve been working very hard in a lot of places that aren’t here. I’ve been writing every monday on Synchronized Swim, a project that my friend Jessie and I have become very fond of and proud of. I’ve been quilting quilts and smaller quilted objects and also sewing signal flags with which I’ve launched an Etsy shop that you can find here. I’ve been working full time in the kitchen at HoneyRock trying to cook food for friends and strangers with mixed feelings. I’ve been traveling within myself, stretching out, opening up, widening in big ways and small. I’ve been cold in feet of snow, free in mossy forest, warm by fires. I’ve been all over the place and now I’m here again.

I’m writing from Chicago where I’m visiting and staying with my friend Margaret. Isaiah is in Rwanda for a week (long story), and I’m resting and thinking and feeling and enjoying returning to my old city, which doesn’t quite feel like home anymore. It feels a little like I don’t have any home, which isn’t true but also is a little bit. Isaiah and I have plans and hopes. We are moving to Pittsburgh, my hometown, in May. I want to keep building my precarious fledgling creative small business. We want to have babies someday, not like right now but soon-ish. We have so much we want and so many hopes and goals.

In the meantime, though, between all the thinking, planning, moving forward, we’ve also been staying put. Sometimes stuck, other times just sitting. Maybe it’s a winter thing, but for all I’ve done in these past few months, it doesn’t quite feel like very much. I’ve been doing all I can do and I still don’t have as much to show for it as I wish I could. And now I’m back in Chicago for a moment looking back at it all and feeling underwhelmed but thankful. No way to change anything, no different version of what has come to pass. Just ways to move forward. Ways to stop waiting and keep working. Ways to do one thing at a time, the thing that makes sense to do. Going by guessing. Learning by going where I have to go.

A quick recap in words and pictures (in no particular order):

0D30357F-B81E-4903-8190-629C7ABF6D5E

I knit my second ever pair of socks, the Pixel Stitch socks by Purl Soho. I set them down for a long time and picked them up again at the end of the year. I’ve never owned a more special pair of socks.
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Quilted Christmas stockings, made in January because Isaiah and I have never bought any for ourselves and it was time. This will surely be an ongoing experiment with more versions rolling out by next November-ish.
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Thankful for our tiny treehouse home.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Been working on a new applique project which I’ve been calling “Incarnation Quilt”. Each block is a hand-applique image from the Bible and Christian history.  I’ve chosen images that have become meaningful to me in the past months and years, things that remind me of what is true, what has been written, what will be. This project will take a long time, and that’s exactly how I like it.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I’m knitting a new sweater! Cline by Julie Hoover. Part of my handmade wardrobe plan for 2018.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Made myself a project bag to hold my knitting because I can’t afford the ones I love from Fringe Supply Co. A few kinks to work out of the self-drafted pattern, but I really love having one that is handmade! If I can get the pattern just right, these may end up in my etsy shop, so keep eyes open if you’re into this sort of thing!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I’ve been making flags. A great many of them. The flags when hung together make secret poems which you can read about more here. If you would like to learn more or buy some or just see what I’ve been working really hard on the most since December, hop over to my Etsy shop here. A big exercise in “go before you’re ready.” A big exercise in faith.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Currently trying to find somewhere sort of like this to live in Pittsburgh in May, so if you know of any leads let me know THANKS! Want big bright beautiful studio space, more than one bedroom, nice-ish kitchen, and a washer/dryer right in the apartment because A GAL CAN DREAM.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Truly a treat to live in a place like this, no matter how long, no matter the circumstance.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Making things, drawing things, writing things, trying things.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

“X”

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Been skating here and it’s been changing me.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

A thing I made and a husband I love.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

This is what is nice about my dayjob. There are parts of it that are way less nice than this.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

FABRICS FOR MY HANDMADE WARDROBE 2018, WHICH I’M VERY EXCITED ABOUT!!!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Here is the plan for said handmade wardrobe! Hoping lots of it will happen this spring/summer, we’ll see! (Winter is for knitting, obviously).

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I made this quilt, hand-applique abstract shapes, and it’s one of my favorite things I’ve ever made.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

We are more in love than we ever were before, even in the snow that stretches far.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Work-in-progress, tiny home as tiny studio, making do with what I have and stretching out as far as I can. Doing the only things I can do.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Autumn, brief, was the magic-time.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

More incarnation blocks.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Applique pieces before.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

A finished quilt for a baby girl who has since been born!

IMG_5838

On wilderness trips, I’m usually sad. An exercise in learning what I do and do not like, what I should and should not do.

IMG_6542

NO NEW FRIENDS BUT NEW PLACES TO BE FRIENDS IN.

IMG_6717

DITTO!

IMG_6810

New places to be alone too.

IMG_6853

Another nice part of my dayjob.

IMG_6885

We will never be in love and twenty-four again.

IMG_6934

Sister becoming every day more of a friend.

IMG_6944

Sad about gingerbread?

IMG_7067

I finished this special quilt and use it everyday. It is one of my favorite belongings and I will never give it away.

IMG_7336

Current home, wilderness, no where.

IMG_7550

My car currently, OH NO!

Leave a comment