Lately

Lately I’ve been:

1. Getting really crafty. I’m in the middle of knitting my very first sweater, and I’m gearing up to start piecing my first quilt. A trip to the Mennonite thrift store in Goshen when Isaiah and I visited family there this weekend got me all stocked up for all my projects. Gear is expensive, and there is a lot that you need when you’re starting from zero. So I’m trying to responsibly collect things that I’ll use for years.

2. Feeling really topsy-turvy and blue. Trying to remember that I can’t muscle my way into the life I think I want, that my power is only an illusion, that it’s best to relax my tense body and open my hands a little bit. But it’s hard. It’s really hard. I’m waiting to hear back from a job opportunity that feels really bright, really important, really maybe exactly what I need, but the waiting is terrible, anxiety-inducing. I want to hope, but not too much. Not so much that I don’t know what I’d do if the answer is no. So, deep breaths, open hands, open eyes, long walks, one day at a time. Isaiah and I have been waiting for the dust of our lives to settle, and now we are wondering if it ever will. Maybe it sort of doesn’t ever. Maybe that’s okay.

3. Reading a lot of things, but mostly Madeleine L’Engle, because she is my adopted grandmother and her quiet wisdom makes me feel like the world is more possible.

4. Feeling angry about politics, and unwilling to speak about them. Just angry, and a little aghast that things have gotten so weird in our country. Bracing myself for election day.

5. Trying to spend as little money as possible (HARD), but still keeping a mental wish list and window shopping lots because I can’t help it.

6. Needing new winter boots (maybe these to cool myself up a bit), all the wool socks, and a big fluffy duvet (this cover is the prettiest, and the pricey-est) because winter is coming and it’s going to be BAD. We came home from Indiana last night and almost ALMOST turned on the furnace. Not yet. Not yet, but soon.

7. Enjoying autumn while it’s here with mums on my doorstep, a tiny white pumpkin on my coffee table, cinnamon on everything, and cider as often as I can handle the sugar. I’m dreaming of beeswax candles and pecan pie and lots of things that I’m not sure I have time for in these days that slip away too quickly. It’s all dissolved into coffee shifts and waiting, but the weather is fine and there are mums at least.

8. Listening to George Winston December on vinyl, which Isaiah magically found for me me at Goodwill, and feeling all the nostalgia. This is the music I used to create ballets to in my living room as a kid. It still makes me want to dance and sway and cry and look out the window and eat Archway cookies all at once. It’s a little early (October), I know, but I don’t care, not at all. At least I haven’t pulled out the Bing Crosby yet. Maybe in a week or two.

9. Needing a sewing box, and drooling over this amazing, completely too expensive one from Best Made Co. Maybe I’ll somehow magically find some sort of antique like it? Maybe? It’s too gorgeous to be real. Maybe this for a cheaper and still lovely/utilitarian option.

10. WANTING TO BAKE BREAD AGAIN, WHAT HAVE I BEEN WAITING FOR, PROBABLY DIDN’T BECAUSE OF TRYING TO AVOID OVEN USE BUT NOW I’M COLD ALWAYS SO BACK IN ACTION! Pulling out my double dutch oven and will try again with a sourdough starter, because things didn’t go too well last year and I resorted to yeast and this magic recipe which turned out very well after all. Also, the speedy version, apparently! Will try!


 

Lately in photos:

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Sometimes your sister visits and buys a tiny tree.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Squeezing out the last bits of summer in Chicago.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Made a big batch of cookie dough, froze it, baked them two at a time for a month. Highly recommended from this household.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Lots of my days look just like this.

 

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

When in doubt, pom pom crown.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Living our best life sometimes.

 

img_1251

Loved being with these women in this lovely city.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Saw some Shakespeare in Wheaton and wept the whole way home.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I frequently ask Isaiah to go on a date to the grocery store with me. It’s no different than a regular grocery visit, really. Just with added love.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Loved having these two New York babies in Chicago for a little minute.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Bought myself some mums for my doorstep and a tiny white pumpkin. Fall is actually happening.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Coolest dog in the village!

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

From Pond. One to read again and again and again.

 

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

CAMELTOE, hahahaha!

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

O lovely plate on which the perfect sandwich lay, may we always remember your crumbs and smears. O silver fork, O little bowl, what treasures passed your way!

(It was the chicken parmesan sandwich at Publican Quality Meats, if you must know. Goodness.)

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

It’s very beautiful here.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

These two fancy people are very engaged!!!

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Our local Sprout Home, helping us get our fall on.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A not sad desk lunch thanks to WAAM Industries! Love my new canvas lunchbag, and keep finding excuses to pack a lunch even when I don’t need one! Also, cheese popcorn has been a mainstay in our household this fall. How about yours???

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Goodbye for now, oh special place.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Tis the season for oatmeal bake! Used Molly Wizenberg’s recipe, of course. She’s my go-to for all things oatmeal, and all things edible, really. Ignore the splotch of egg. Sometimes I don’t beat things well enough.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A VISITING YACHTSMAN!

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Sometimes I let things get messy.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Back when we had our best bud around.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Run right now to the Cultural Center to see this exhibit. It’s narrative art at its finest.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I’m not kidding. It’s very special.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

It is one of my favorite things to visit this quilt in the Cultural Center. It reminds me of this, actually, Β Dr. Seuss’ spookiest.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Donuts in White Cloud, Michigan. Donuts as they really should be.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Birds of a feather.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Some urban gorgeousness, not expected but very thankfully received.

 

img_1223

Fell in love with some yarn, don’t worry!

 

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

My street, 7 am. So golden.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

In a canyon with my best boys, finding circles of quiet, remembering what it feels like to have room.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Glory be! Mums!

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

IT IS INDEED WHAT IT LOOKS LIKE. WE GOT TO BE IN THE ROOM WHERE IT HAPPENED. Thank you Chicago for being cool enough to be a new home forΒ Hamilton.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

YOU GUYS.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

IT WAS BETTER THAN I EVEN IMAGINED IT WOULD BE.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

When we got to the park, the fire was already burning, courtesy of the Treekeepers. We did not ask questions, we just set our own firewood aside and got warm.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

If gardens aren’t magic, then I don’t really know what is.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Bounty, and for pizza even!

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

FORESHADOWING! FORESHADOWING! (Said with the voice and hand gesture of Mrs. Bobola, sophomore English teacher.)

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

She told me what each plant was, and I was glad because I didn’t know, not at all.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Two favorite small girls, one favorite small cat.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Morning light, grandma’s stairs.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Asked grandma my knitting questions, ate shredded wheat, made progress.

Leave a Reply

