Nesting No. 4: Making Merry

Lo how a rose ere blooming! It’s Advent, everyone, and my radio is permanently set to the all-Christmas-all-the-time station except it has too many commercials! I’ve watched half of Love Actually, James Taylor’s christmas album is getting a lot of play time on my Spotify, and I’ve already eaten my weight in peppernuts. We are all, all of us, doing very well.

This Advent is especially special to me because it’s my first as a Sadie Sadie married lady in our brand new little apartment. Decoration-less us were lucky to find some killer ones in a pretty fantastic Mennonite thrift store in Goshen, IN. I wanted to deck our halls, but I really didn’t want to buy very much or accumulate too much stuff. I’m really happy with how it turned out, a few great little garlands, my trusty nativity open now for the season, and a tree-top we found on the side of the road that Isaiah literally ripped off the tree with his own hands in a moment of wild Christmas necessity.

In my own moment of wild Christmas necessity I had a debacle with awful twinkle lights from Target that I needed with my whole heart. I sat on the floor in the Christmas section for 15 minutes, manically rifling through the boxes of all the kinds of christmas lights I didn’t want, bumping them all around, wishing on a Christmas star while Isaiah turned on all the music boxes in every snow globe in Target all at once. I ended up shuffling out of the store with a half-wanted twinkling abomination, put them on our little tree, and hated them with all of my still-aesthetic Christmas heart. So I returned them. We nixed lights altogether, no replacement has been bought, but I don’t miss them too much.

When we need the glowy feeling, Isaiah and I sitting on the couch near our first Christmas tree in the dark like I always dreamed we would, we light a candle and place it beneath and it flickers just so. The light of Christ. The things we’ve gathered, they feel like enough. More than enough, really. Preparing a place and our hearts, cleaning out dusty spaces, waiting with Mary, ready to burst, waiting for God.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with c1 preset


Most of my current Christmas decorations were thrifted, but were originally from Ten Thousand Villages, a shop with some of the most beautiful handmade items from makers around the world. Here is the red star garland and the gold is sort of like the ones we have around our Christmas tree. Here is the cool stretchy palm garland we have up over the window and our bed. As for our Nativity, this is the one I own which was given to me by one of my favorite professors years ago, and here is another one which is fun because it’s a double-decker!

For more of your decoration seeking needs, Terrain has some of the most pretty Christmas things I think I’ve ever seen. Especially this simple preserved cedar wreath, these lights, the ones I actually wanted, these ornaments, this copper tree topper, and these little bottle brush trees.

Schoolhouse Electric, my forever favorite, has some gorgeous Christmas things as well, especially their stockings, these taper candles, and this garland.

Leave a Reply

